Announcing the winners of the inaugural Expozine Alternative Press Awards!

The awards gala was held on March 22, 2006 at the Mainline Theatre,
where Montreal’s favourite air band Never Surrender wowed the full house to
numerous encores, and master of ceremonies Jean Giscagne was class incarnate.
And now, the winners:

Best Zine, English:

four minutes to midnight


Best Zine, French:

C’est Selon, 14

Tuuut Fanzine, Natalie Gadoua/ Camille Dumas/ Roxanne Arsenault

Best Comic, English:

ojingogo, by Matthew Forsythe

Best Comic, French:

Hasemeister, Frédéric Mahieu

Best Book, English:

Something for Michael 003 (girl on girl) by Shannon Gerard

Best Book, French:

La petite, Anne Marbrun (L’Oie de Cravan Montréal)


For more information on the winners, click on their names or their publisher’s
names on the 2005 page.

About The Awards
After four years of promoting Montreal’s small press community, Expozine decided
to recognize the best it has to offer with the Expozine Alternative Press
Awards. The nominees reflected the wide diversity of printed matter represented
last November, when each of the more than 200 Expozine participants were asked
to submit their best creation for consideration. An extensive shortlist was
selected. Following are the English finalists:


Something for Michael 003 (girl on girl)
by Shannon Gerard

The Hero Book
by Scott Waters

by Jon Paul Fiorentino

The Official St Leonard Dictionary
by John Trivisonno

Making Stuff and Doing Things
by Kyle Bravo (Microcosm Publishing)

The YPF Yearbook (Young People’s Foundation)

Garbage Head
by Christopher Willard (Vehicule Press)


ojingogo by Matthew Forsythe

horror perditii by Amanda Crawford

Untitled Service Industry Comic by T. Edward Bak

Revolver by Salgood Sam

Big Questions #7

Anders Nilsen (Drawn & Quarterly)


four minutes to midnight


Leg Moustache Advisor

Tarhonya by Stephen Guy

LASH by Shawn Kuruneru

G-Eunuch Digest (The Cowboy Issue)

Lifelike by Chris Binkowski

E-mail us for more info.